Welcome to Gozo Minor Seminary

European Computer Driving Licence (ECDL), known as ICDL outside Europe, is the global standard in end-user computer skills, offering Candidates an internationally recognised certification that is supported by governments, computer societies, international organisations and commercial corporations globally.

ECDL is the world's largest end-user computer skills certification programme, with more than 12 million candidates in 148 countries.

ECDL raises the level of ICT and computer skills and allows candidates to be more productive at home and at work. ECDL also improves job prospects by providing an internationally recognised qualification. With a superior syllabus - uniquely validated to ensure that it is always relevant, up-to-date and meaningful - candidates can be confident that ECDL offers a certification of unrivalled quality.

What is it?

The New ECDL is a test of practical skills and competencies and consists of seven separate modules covering computer theory and practice. To achieve the ECDL Standard certificate, the Candidate must successfully pass a test in seven modules.

The New ECDL consists of two categories of modules:

  • Base modules are the building blocks for digital literacy, describing essential skills and knowledge.
  • Standard modules allow individuals to build their digital competence, depending on their needs.

The ECDL Standard Certificate is awarded to candidates who successfully complete all four (4) Base modules and any three (3) Standard modules.

Who is ECDL Standard for?

The ECDL programme is for anyone who needs to demonstrate to an international standard that they are fully competent in the use of a personal computer and common computer applications and that they know the essential concepts of Information Technology.

Prospective Candidates should ideally have used computers and the common software applications before. Other programmes are also available for those with other requirements.

Benefits of ECDL Standard

Today, computer skills are increasingly important to people in all walks of life. ECDL is an information technology certificate for all citizens. It is intended for those who need to, or wish to, know how to use a personal computer. It is suitable for people from every work discipline, for people entering the job market, and for all ages.

Benefits for Candidates:

  • Increases essential ICT knowlege/skills
  • Increases confidence in computer use
  • Provides internationally-recognised qualification
  • Improves job prospects and job mobility
  • Provides a platform from which to move on to higher-level ICT education
  • Receive an MQF Level 3 qualification


Registering to start ECDL

When candidates register to start the ECDL certification process they purchase an ECDL Candidate Registration Number. This is a unique number that is used for all ECDL tests (Base, Standard & Advanced). ECDL Candidate Registration Numbers are purchased from any accredited ECDL Test Centre. The cost of the ECDL Candidate Registration number includes ONE certificate issued by ECDL Malta. Only an accredited Test Centre can carry out testing and issue ECDL Candidate Registration Numbers. Test Centres are approved and monitored by ECDL Malta.



ECDL training is delivered through a variety of media, including traditional classroom based, instructor-led methods, and self-directed, assignment or multimedia based training (CBT), which is usually a home study option. This latter method has proved to be most successful when learners are supported by a tutor or mentor to help with any queries.

Candidates are not however, required to do any training in order to achieve their ECDL. If they are competent in the syllabus content, they can contact an accredited ECDL test centre, purchase an ECDL Candidate Registration Number and sit the tests.

At our school:

  • ECDL Core is covered in Forms 1 to 4, thus giving our pupils the opportunity to get the certification at an early stage.
  • We also offer ECDL Standard courses and testing for adults outside school hours. These courses can be organised on demand for groups of not less than 6 persons.



There are a number of approved ECDL courseware providers who produce materials for teaching and learning the knowledge and skills prescribed in the ECDL syllabus. Courseware providers are currently revising and developing training material to cater for the new ECDL modules. We currently use EnlightKS online notes for most of the modules.



All ECDL tests (except for 2D CAD) are undertaken on automated testing software at an accredited ECDL Test Centre. Candidates undertake a test on a computer, which then automatically assesses the candidates' performance, and provides immediate pass/fail feedback to both the centre and the candidates. Information about 2D CAD is available here.

The duration of each test (except for 2D CAD) is 45 minutes. No books or other help may be used during the tests.

The pass mark for each module is set to be 75%.

The four (4) Base module tests and three (3) Standard module tests may be taken in any sequence and at any time in any accredited ECDL Test Centre. Candidates can transfer to other Test Centres to do the tests. There are no fees associated with the transfer of candidates between Test Centres.

Candidates registered on the New ECDL programme can sit for ECDL tests at their own pace without time constraints.

Candidates failing ECDL tests are allowed to retake different test versions of the same module at the same Test Centre. Candidates are encouraged to attempt the sample part test papers before taking tests. Candidates are strongly encouraged to liaise with the ECDL Test Centre to sit for mock/diagnostic tests.

Candidates who are not satisfied with the assessment process of their ECDL test are encouraged to discuss their concerns with the Test Centre. If they are not satisfied with the outcome of these discussions, they are encouraged to send an email/letter to ECDL Malta explaining their concerns.



The ECDL Standard Certificate is awarded to candidates who successfully complete all four (4) Base modules and any three (3) Standard modules. The ECDL Standard certificate awarded is referenced to Level Three of the Malta Qualifications Framework and the European Qualifications Framework for Lifelong Learning ...more information.

The ECDL certificate will NOT be issued immediately by the Test Centre. ECDL Malta will issue the certificate and pass this on to the Test Centre where the last test was held. Candidates will collect the certificate from the Test Centre where they had sat for their last test. The fee involved in issuing the first ECDL certificate is incorporated in the cost of the ECDL Registration Number.

Candidates have the option of requesting an ECDL Base certificate after having successfully completed the four (4) Base module tests. The ECDL Base certificate awarded is referenced to Level Two of the Malta Qualifications Framework and the European Qualifications Framework for Lifelong Learning ...more information. Candidates will still have the option of obtaining the ECDL Standard certificate when they successfully complete any three (3) Standard module tests. However, the second certificate will be issued against an additional charge as indicated by the Test Centre.